Best course to build an iPhone app (2026)
By Mehdi Azizi
Updated , 10 min
Degree, CPF bootcamp, video course, Swift workshop or self-paced kit: which course to pick to build your iPhone app, based on your goal.
Which course should you pick to build an iPhone app in 2026?
The best course to build an iPhone app depends on your goal. If you want a permanent developer job, go for a degree program or a CPF-eligible bootcamp. If you want to level up at your company, a 3 to 5 day Swift workshop is enough. If you want to publish your own app with a subscription, pick a program built around your project that takes you all the way to the App Store.
The trap is comparing courses that don't answer the same question. An RNCP certification won't help you pass Apple's review. And a vibe coding course designed for the web won't teach you how to set up a subscription in App Store Connect.
I'm an indie iOS app developer. Solys (an alarm clock with mini-games) and TradaZen (a trading practice app) are on the App Store. Nolera and Clic were rejected by Apple, then fixed and resubmitted. I code with React Native, Expo, EAS, RevenueCat and Supabase, and I use Claude Code and Cursor every day. I also sell the iOS Kit, my self-paced course to build a mobile app. It's one of the options compared here, so I'll also tell you when it's not the one you need.
All prices and durations for the other providers were taken from their pages on September 23, 2026. They may change, so check before you sign up.
What's your profile: personal app, career change or web developer?
Before you look at a single price, answer one question: what do you want to have in your hands at the end?
- You want to publish your own iPhone app. What matters: an app on the App Store, a revenue model wired in, and someone to get you unstuck when Apple rejects you. A degree is useless here.
- You want to change careers and get hired. What matters: a recognized certification, a portfolio, a network, sometimes a work-study program. CPF funding (France's personal training account) is often the deciding factor.
- You're already a web developer. You know how to code. What you're missing is Apple's own pipeline: code signing, TestFlight, in-app purchases, review.
Each option below is the best one for one of these profiles, rarely for all three.
Degree programs and bootcamps: who are they for?
OpenClassrooms: what changed
For a long time, OpenClassrooms offered a degree program called "iOS Application Developer." As I'm writing this, the old URL for that program redirects to a web-focused full-stack program. If that's the degree you were aiming for, check its status directly with OpenClassrooms before you build your plans on it.
They do offer an Advanced Swift and SwiftUI Bootcamp: 3 months, about 10 hours a week, with mentoring. It's aimed at people who are working or in transition, requires object-oriented programming basics and a Mac, and validates one skills block of an RNCP certification. The price isn't shown on the page: you have to ask.
Who it's the best option for: you've already programmed, you want to move to native Swift and you want a recognized line on your resume.
Jedha and its vibe coding course
Jedha's Vibe Coding course costs 7,500 euros for 450 hours of learning: 3 months full-time or 7 months part-time, online or on campus. It's CPF-eligible and prepares you for the French professional certification "Concepteur développeur d'applications" (RNCP 37873, level 6). You work with Cursor, Lovable and Claude Code.
Two things to know. The program is web-focused (React, Next.js, Supabase), with no mobile app or App Store announced. And the prerequisites ask you to already be familiar with no-code tools like n8n, Softr or Airtable.
Who it's the best option for: you want an RNCP certification funded by your CPF, you're aiming for a job building products with AI, and web suits you as much as mobile.
Are video courses on Udemy and YouTube enough?
To learn the syntax, yes. On Udemy, prices vary from course to course, and YouTube is free.
The limit isn't the quality of the videos. It's that nobody looks at your code, you drop off alone at the first roadblock, and most courses stop before the hardest part: the subscription, the App Store listing and Apple's review. In learning to build your iOS app I explain how to chain these tutorials without drowning in them.
Who it's the best option for: you're self-driven, your budget is tight, and you accept a longer road.
Inter-company Swift workshops: built for employees
Human Coders, M2I and ib offer short workshops for developers adding iOS to their skills, often funded by the employer or its OPCO (France's training funding body).
- Human Coders, iOS with Swift: 2,800 euros excl. VAT, 5 days, with an up-to-date Mac and Xcode.
- M2I, Swift for object-oriented developers: from 1,905 euros excl. VAT, 3 days (21 hours). M2I also offers a 5-day (35 hours) hands-on native iOS with Swift workshop, in-house, on quote, that goes all the way to App Store deployment.
- ib, Swift: building apps for iOS: 2,090 euros excl. VAT, 3 days (21 hours).
Who it's the best option for: you're an employee, your company pays, and you need to be productive in Swift on an existing project. For a beginner paying for their own app, the price-to-duration ratio is rarely right.
Can a vibe coding course get you to build an iPhone app?
Not on its own. Most vibe coding courses target the web: a React app deployed in one click. On iPhone, AI writes screens really well, but it can't see your Apple account, your subscriptions console, or how the reviewer looks at your app. I listed these blind spots in building an iOS app with AI.
So a web-focused vibe coding course is a good choice for the web, and an incomplete one for the App Store.
Devoria's iOS Kit: who it's for, and who it's not for
The iOS Kit is a self-paced course: Starter Code that runs, a four-step path and Claude Code skills that check the AI's work. There are no live classes: you go at your own pace. It has one goal: getting you to publish your own iPhone app, with a subscription, on the App Store. The path is detailed depending on your tool: Claude Code course or vibe coding course.
How it works
- Price: 129.99 euros one time, with 1 year of updates included, then 49.99 euros a year if you want to keep going.
- Format: a course in kit form, at your own pace. Everything is written, organized and ready to follow; the Discord stays open for peer help.
- Human feedback: separately, the One hour with me session, 100 euros by video call, on your app.
- Content: the Starter Code from my apps (accounts, paywall and subscriptions, AI, onboarding, 8 languages), three visual styles, the Claude Code skills for each step, and the Apple Review Kit, App Store Screenshots Kit and ASO Kit.
- Stack: React Native and Expo, with Claude Code or Cursor.
- Requirements: a Mac recommended, an Apple Developer account ($99 a year) and Claude Code or Cursor.
- Availability: on sale, instant download after payment.
The program
- Step 1: pick the app that can make money. The idea, the audience, the price, and the kit installed.
- Step 2: build the core of the app, tested on your iPhone with TestFlight.
- Step 3: wire up the money. Onboarding, paywall and subscriptions, already in the code.
- Step 4: publish and get found. Apple review, screenshots and a listing in 30 languages.
Why this format
What blocks beginners is almost never the code. It's everything that happens between "it works on my phone" and "Apple approved it." I got a 2.1 rejection on Solys because the onboarding demo couldn't be completed on iPad Air in compatibility mode. A 5.6.3 rejection, also on Solys, because I asked for a rating during onboarding. A 2.3.2 rejection on Nolera, because the icon was reused as a promotional image. No video course had warned me. I tell the stories in why Apple rejects an app.
What it doesn't do
Let's be clear. The iOS Kit is not CPF-eligible and doesn't give you any degree or RNCP certification. It doesn't teach native Swift in depth, since the stack is React Native. It promises neither income nor Apple approval: that decision stays theirs. There are no live classes and no one-on-one follow-up: it takes self-discipline and time every week on your own project.
Who it's the best option for: you have an app idea, you want to publish it with a subscription, and you'd rather go at your own pace with the code and method of someone who publishes his own apps. The step-by-step path is detailed on the iOS developer coaching page.
Comparison table of courses to build an iPhone app
| Course | Type | Technology | Price | Duration | Format | Published app | Subscriptions | Apple review |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenClassrooms, Swift and SwiftUI Bootcamp | Bootcamp | Swift and SwiftUI | Not shown, ask | 3 months, about 10 h a week | Online, mentoring | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Jedha, Vibe Coding | Degree program (RNCP) | Web (React, Next.js), with AI | 7,500 euros, CPF-eligible | 450 h, 3 or 7 months | Online or campus | No, web program | Not stated | No, no mobile |
| Udemy, YouTube | Video course | Depends on the course | Free to variable | At your own pace | Video, alone | Depends on the course | Depends on the course | Rarely |
| Human Coders, iOS with Swift | Inter-company workshop | Swift | 2,800 euros excl. VAT | 5 days | In person or remote | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| M2I, Swift for object-oriented developers | Inter-company workshop | Swift | From 1,905 euros excl. VAT | 3 days | In person or remote | No | Not stated | Not stated |
| M2I, hands-on native iOS | In-house workshop | Swift | On quote | 5 days | In person or remote | Not stated | Not stated | Deployment in the program |
| ib, Swift for iOS | Inter-company workshop | Swift | 2,090 euros excl. VAT | 3 days | Blended | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Devoria, iOS Kit | Self-paced course, no degree and no CPF | React Native and Expo, with Claude Code or Cursor | 129.99 euros, one-time payment | At your own pace | Starter Code, written path, skills | Yes, that's the goal | Yes (step 3) | Yes, listing and submission (step 4) |
"Not stated" means the provider's public page doesn't mention it, not necessarily that the topic is never covered. Ask before you pay.
CPF courses for a mobile app: what you need to know
In France, the CPF funds courses registered in the national directory, most often those leading to an RNCP certification or a skills block. That's why degree programs and some bootcamps are eligible, and why short courses or kits focused on a personal project, like mine, generally aren't.
If your goal is a job, use your CPF: a long certifying course makes sense for a career change. If your goal is to publish your own app, don't pick a course just because it's "free" through the CPF. A web program lasting several months won't necessarily get you closer to the App Store.
And whatever you choose, plan for the Apple Developer account, which is required to publish. The steps are in Apple developer account: price and sign-up.
Which course should you pick based on your profile?
- If you want a permanent iOS developer job and you're starting from zero, pick a CPF-eligible degree program, ideally work-study.
- If you want an RNCP certification and web interests you as much as mobile, pick a bootcamp like Jedha's Vibe Coding course.
- If you already code and want to move to native Swift, pick OpenClassrooms' Swift and SwiftUI Bootcamp or an inter-company workshop.
- If you're an employee and your employer pays, pick a 3 to 5 day Swift workshop at Human Coders, M2I or ib.
- If you're self-driven on a small budget, start with free tutorials and video courses, then launch your app without waiting.
- If you're a web developer and want to publish your own app, stick with TypeScript using React Native and Expo, and lean on the Apple Review Kit for the Apple part.
- If you want to publish your own iPhone app with a subscription, at your own pace and from ready-made code, pick the iOS Kit.
The detailed comparison of formats is also on the iOS developer course page.
Frequently asked questions
What's the best course to build an iPhone app as a beginner?
The one that matches your goal. For a job, a degree program. To publish your own app, a course that goes all the way to the App Store, subscription and Apple review included.
Is there a CPF course to build a mobile app?
Yes, mostly degree programs and bootcamps that prepare for an RNCP certification, like Jedha's Vibe Coding course (7,500 euros, CPF-eligible). Still, check the program: many are web-focused and cover neither mobile nor the App Store.
Is the iOS Kit CPF-eligible?
No. The iOS Kit isn't CPF-eligible and doesn't give you an RNCP certification. It costs 129.99 euros one time, with 1 year of updates included, and you can download it as soon as you pay.
Do you need a Mac for an iOS developer course?
For Swift courses, yes, because Xcode only runs on Mac: Human Coders, ib and the OpenClassrooms bootcamp explicitly require one. With React Native and Expo, builds can run in the cloud, so you can work without a Mac.
Is a vibe coding course enough to publish on the App Store?
Rarely. AI speeds up writing the code, but code signing, subscriptions and Apple's review are still on you. If the course mentions neither TestFlight, nor App Store Connect, nor in-app purchases, it won't get you all the way to publishing.